top of page

The 6 Northfaces


In general I am completely against collecting summits or achievements of any kind. I think that one should simply climb the mountains that one wants to climb because of their beauty or their challenge. Whether a mountain is higher than 4,000 m or even 8,000 m doesn't add to the mountain's fascination. You won't see me bragging around having climbed all mountains that share some artificial criteria like, e.g., the highest peaks of each continent.


Nevertheless, I cannot deny that the six great northfaces of the Alps are all very appealing climbs. I have actually taken up climbing with the goal to climb the Eiger northface. So the 6 northfaces yes they are a desirable collection (I know that this lacks of consistency, but passion defeats reason). The 6 great northfaces are:


  • Eiger, Bernese Oberland, Switzerland

  • Grandes Jorasses, Chamonix, France

  • Matterhorn, Zermatt, Switzerland

  • Petit Dru, Chamonix, France

  • Badile, Bregaglia, Switzerland

  • Cima Grande, Dolomites, Italy


So far I have climbed the Cima Grande and the Eiger Northface.


bottom of page